Tuesday TV Talk

Tonight, NBC’s newest comedy will make its debut.  It’s called Trial and Error, and it’s a spoof on the murderer documentary phenomenon that has swept the country over the past few years.  Think The Jinx meets The Office.  The trailers haven’t done much for me, but the reviews have been generally good so far, and I am a fan of John Lithgow.  That’s enough for me to give it a chance.

About FRQ

Once ate an entire blueberry cobbler by accident
This entry was posted in Chat, TV, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Tuesday TV Talk

  1. nastyemu says:

    I have no idea what’s going on in Big Little Lies and I still love it. I don’t usually like Nicole Kidman, but she’s perfect for this. Am I the only person still watching Girls? It’s been really good!

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      I stopped watching Girls a couple seasons ago – at least I think it was a couple seasons ago. I heard this last season has been good, so I might revisit it at some point in the future.

      • nastyemu says:

        Last season was really good too, so depending on where you stopped maybe jump back in on season 5. If you stopped in season 2 (the worst one), just skip that one and go to season 3.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          I just checked the episode guide on IMDB, and it looks like I stopped about half way through season 4. So I don’t have too much catching up to do.

        • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

          Did season 2 feature the q-tip incident? Because that scene haunts me to this day. I’m curious to know why you didn’t like season 2. I think that’s the season where there is some focus on Hannah’s OCD? Since I have OCD, I like seeing it portrayed in different ways. I realize that I’m probably in the minority on liking that plot.

        • nastyemu says:

          Ugh, the q-tip was season 3 I think. I honestly don’t remember the specifics of the early seasons. I just remember that I wasn’t sure if I would keep watching it after season 2. I’ll probably re-watch the whole thing after the finale.

    • mikaelajm says:

      Oh my god, Nicole Kidman is SO GOOD in BLL! Just outstanding.

      And I am still watching Girls! I kind of hated last week’s revelation, but could mayyybe learn to like it depending on where they go. Haven’t watched this week’s episode, so I have no basis for judgment yet.

    • martinmegz says:

      I am so into BLL! I have all these theories about what’s happening, here’s exclusive footage of me working through them:

      I’m super bummed it’s a miniseries with just seven episodes. Side bar, how great is the music? I’ve been thinking lately that I haven’t heard any great soundtracks in awhile but this show is great. Someone made a playlist of all the songs: https://www.reddit.com/r/biglittlelies/comments/5z84nu/big_little_lies_spotify_playlist/

      • nastyemu says:

        I didn’t realize it was only seven episodes! They better get on with it! I’m not exactly sure why, but aside from one theory that was quickly proven wrong (is Skarsgard Ziggy’s dad), I haven’t tried to figure anything out with this show. I’ve just been letting it wash over me, and it’s wonderful. Maybe it’s because I’m psyched for the final season of The Leftovers, which pretty much requires you to be in that mindset to not hate it.

        • martinmegz says:

          Wait how was that proven wrong? I think the guy Madeline found is a misdirect. I still have no idea who gets killed.

        • nastyemu says:

          I guess it wasn’t “proven” wrong, but with what’s happened it would annoy me if it turned out to be him now. I don’t think the guy they found really resembled him, but like I said I’ve mostly tried to avoid analyzing this show beyond the initial viewing.

          I don’t think they’ve explained what A-Skars does for a living, but based on what we’ve seen, I’m pretty sure his job is just “rapist”. “Sexy former vampire super rapist.” Something like that.

        • mikaelajm says:

          I do think the “found” guy is a misdirect and Skarsgard is the dad. But I have zero theories on who’s dead or how!

      • mikaelajm says:

        It’s only 7 episodes???? In a way, I think that’s smart, because this seems like a story that can be told in roughly that amount of screentime, and might get too melodramatic if it dragged on. I tend to believe that less is more with almost all TV shows. But man, what a bummer to realize there are only 3 left!

  2. catweazle says:

    I watched a bunch of Daredevil this week. I watched the first two episodes months ago and then forgot about it, but I want to be ready for The Defenders so I’m going to finish it and then watch Luke Cage. Will probably skip Iron Fist though since it’s supposed to be super sucky.

    • catweazle says:

      Speaking of Iron Fist, I enjoy a lot of Marvel shit but why are so many of their superheros really rich white dudes? Iron Man was fun until Avengers 2 when he became the worst, then we got Doctor Strange who is not compelling as a character and I sort of want to punch his ghost out of his body and steal his cape, and now this Justin Timberlake-haired white dude doing martial arts? Dear Marvel, for every rich white man-centric show/movie I expect a standalone Black Widow movie going forward.

      • nastyemu says:

        Daredevil is a white lawyer, that’s blind but still knows exactly where everything is. He’s the worst.

  3. welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

    I’ve been slacking on my TV watching. Can I add “watch a bunch of shows” to my Project Club list? That doesn’t seem very responsible. Sigh.

  4. nastyemu says:

    FRQ, how do you feel about Legion now? I’m pretty much the opposite of you, where I generally like it more the less they explain things. I feel like at some point they’re gonna give me too much and I’ll stop watching.

    • FRQ says:

      I haven’t had a chance to watch last week’s episode. I’m stupidly busy this week but I hope to be caught up by next TV chat.

  5. I have been rewatching the 100 before I watch the new season and it remains great. I think it’s one of the best shows on TV but people dismiss it because it’s filled with teens and on the CW. It has some of the best, most interesting female characters and really effortless diversity. Basically, everyone go watch it on Netflix.

    • martinmegz says:

      The 100 is freaking amazing! But I’m still upset about the Spacewalker episode and that’s all I’m going to say because everyone should go watch this show.

  6. catweazle says:

    Oh also I watched the first of the Elementary two-parter with the return of Kitty. I was so excited Kitty was back but SPOILER I am sooooooooooooo annoyed they gave her a baby. What the f, show? Babies are great but I have a really hard time seeing the Kitty we know in love not only having a baby but also giving up being a detective because of it. GIVE ME A BREAK. I hope part 2 resolves this in a satisfying manner because I am pisssssed.

    • welcometocostcoiloveyou says:

      That baby was GIGANTIC! Very cute baby, but I think it was a two year old toddler dressed as a baby.

      Also, maybe leave the baby with the father while you go off hunting a killer with your detective pals. I haven’t seen part two yet either.

      • Commentatrix says:

        This is my biggest (heh) pet peeve with TV/movie babies! They are always so big for a newborn or whatever, it takes me right out of it. #Ageist

    • martinmegz says:

      I really love the look on Sherlock’s face when he sees the baby. Jonny Lee Miller is fantastic.

  7. martinmegz says:

    I like any show with this guy’s face in it

  8. collin0truckasaurus says:

    Bachelor finale last night was fine. I got 2nd place in my fantasy league (I won a pair of Chris Harrison earrings that are awesome!). Can’t wait for The Bachelorette because Rachel is going to be amazing!

    I’ve been watching more of The Crown. It’s so good! I guess that’s what $12million per episode buys you!

  9. Commentatrix says:

    I started watching Feud because I was never not gonna watch it. It’s… not great, but it’s watchable in a campy way as Ryan Murphy shows are wont to be. Susan Sarandon is wonderful, but Jessica Lange is miscast imho to an almost distracting degree. She sure does play a youth-obsessed crazy lady well though!

    • collin0truckasaurus says:

      I agree! I think Susan Sarandon is doing well but Jessica Lange is overacting somehow? I don’t really find the show that interesting and I kind of hate watching a show all about how the industry/studios/directors/society reveled in pitting women against each other – I am guessing that’s part of the point of the show, but I still feel kind of icky watching it. And on top of all that I just don’t really enjoy it – it’s kind of boring and the sets/costumes are SOMEHOW not beautiful enough to keep me interested. I also don’t think they explained enough in the pilot for people who aren’t familiar with the feud and Whatever Happened to Baby Jane (like me) (they got to it in the 2nd episode, but it’s not like there was tons of action in the first episode to keep me hooked or anything).

      • Commentatrix says:

        See, I feel like the show suffers from over-explaining everything too fast. We keep seeing people have conversations (or interviews) about this Feud (the feud! the feud! omg the feud!) and I’m like, save it for the subtext oh right never mind I forgot this is a Ryan Murphy joint. He’s not known for subtlety is what I’m saying.

Comments are closed.